History

Histoire de l'hôtel par JP NolyThe foundations of our hotel date back to 1267, when the site housed the Saint Jacques hospital and provided food and shelter to pilgrims on the road to Santiago de Compostela. In the 17th century, it was used as a place of study for Jesuits, and then occupied by the Visitandines of Holy Mary. When the Revolution came, the building was used as a prison, then a food warehouse, and was finally destroyed.

One of the celebrities to stay at the Hôtel de l’Europe was Zarafa, the first giraffe to set foot on European soil. A gift to Charles X by the Viceroy to Egypt, Zarafa, accompanied by the acclaimed naturalist Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, spent a short time here in 1827 before moving north to Paris.

The doors to the former stables still bear traces of this very unusual “customer”.

In 1839, the establishment was selected to host the municipal banquet in honor of Alphonse de Lamartine.

Slowly but steadily, the hotel’s reputation grew internationally, attracting a wide variety of foreign guests. Undoubtedly it was thanks to the English clientele that the hotel was renamed the Grand Hôtel d’Europe et d’Angleterre at the start of the 20th century.

The hotel’s entry plaque has remained in its place since this date.

 

The height of the hotel’s glory started in 1926 when Victor Burtin, a renowned chef from Paray le Monial and who worked in Paris, Monte-Carlo, Wiesbaden and the court of Wilhelm II in Berlin, became the chef at the Hôtel d’Europe et d’Angleterre.

When the Michelin guide was only two years old in 1932, Victor Burtin was awarded 3 stars. This was the start of the hotel’s glory days. It was an unmissable step on the gourmet trail, with customers referring rather to “chez Victor Burtin” than to the Hôtel d’Europe et d’Angleterre.

 

France Info – L’Histoire à la carte de Thierry Marx

2″52.

 

It was also during this time that seaplanes would make a landing on the Saone in front of the hotel for maintenance before heading towards India. A plethora of anecdotes flowed from the clients who came to stay or eat during the stopover, and the most famous of these customers was surely Queen Victoria.

les-hydravions-sur-la-route-des-indes

If we browse through a copy of the guest book, from 1930 to the 1970’s we can find:
The Aga Khan, Churchill, Rockefeller, Raimu, Pagnol, Dali, Cocteau, Mistinguett, Joséphine Baker, Paul Reynaud, Jean Renoir, Van Dongen and even Colette, who was a regular customer. The world of cinema and music is also well represented, with Charles Vanel, Roger Vadim, Catherine Deneuve, Brigitte Bardot and the Jacques brothers.

Renovated and redesigned in 2013, we’ve worked hard to return some of the grandeur to this hotel. We’ve kept all of the original furnishings we could, such as the painted cement tile floors from Paray le Monial, the home town of Victor Burtin, and the chimneys which he had had installed. In particular, we made an effort to keep the chimney in the breakfast room with its “fridge”, in front of which was located the bar in 1930.

A canopy which will soon grace the entrance is sure to remind our visitors of the hotel’s history.

signet

Histoire


Histoire de l'hôtel par JP NolyLes fondations de l’hôtel datent de 1267. Alors hôpital Saint-Jacques, il fournissait repas et couchage aux pèlerins sur la route de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle. Au XVIIe siècle, il servira à l’enseignement des Jésuites, puis sera occupé par les Visitandines de Sainte-Marie. À la Révolution, l’édifice devient une prison, avant d’être un entrepôt de vivres et d’être détruit.

C’est un dénommé Joseph Bouchage, directeur de l’Hôtel du Parc, quai Nord, qui crée en 1800 un hôtel à cet emplacement. Ainsi est né le Grand Hôtel de l’Europe, 1er établissement hôtelier de Mâcon pendant près d’un siècle.

Parmi les célébrités descendues à l’hôtel, Zarafa, la première girafe à fouler le sol européen, fit halte à l’Hôtel d’Europe. Offerte en cadeau par le vice-roi d’Egypte à Charles X, Zarafa, accompagnée par l’éminent naturaliste, Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire, fit une courte escale en 1827 avant de rejoindre Paris.

Les portes des anciennes écuries gardent les traces de cette « cliente » si particulière.

En 1839, l’établissement est choisi pour accueillir le banquet de la municipalité en l’honneur d’Alphonse de Lamartine.

Petit à petit la réputation de l’hôtel traverse les frontières ce qui fait qu’une importante clientèle étrangère y séjourne. C’est sans doute à cause de cette clientèle en particulier anglaise, que le nom devient Grand Hôtel d’Europe et d’Angleterre au début du 20ème siècle.

La plaque de l’hôtel est toujours au même emplacement depuis cette date.


 


La période la plus faste de l’hôtel fut à partir de 1926, quand Victor Burtin, originaire de Paray le Monial, et après avoir été un chef réputé à Paris, Monte-Carlo, Wiesbaden et enfin à la Cour de Guillaume II à Berlin, vint s’installer à l’Hôtel d’Europe et d’Angleterre.

Dés la 2ème  année de l’existence du Guide Michelin, Victor Burtin reçoit les 3 macarons du Guide, en 1932. C’est le début de la période brillante de l’hôtel. Etape gastronomique incontournable, les clients se rendaient d’ailleurs à l’époque chez « Victor Burtin » et non plus à l’Hôtel d’Europe et d’Angleterre.

France Info – L’Histoire à la carte de Thierry Marx Victor Burtin y est évoqué à la fin de la chronique 2″52.

 

C’est également à cette époque que les hydravions amerrissaient sur la Saône devant l’hôtel, pour une escale technique vers la route des Indes. Nombreuses sont les anecdotes sur les personnalités qui venaient se restaurer ou se reposer le temps de l’escale. La plus célèbre d’entre elles fut sûrement la Reine Victoria.

les-hydravions-sur-la-route-des-indes

En consultant le fac similé du livre d’Or, nous pouvons citer depuis 1930 jusqu’aux années 70 :
L’Aga Khan, Churchill, Rockfeller, Raimu, Pagnol, Dali, Cocteau, Mistinguett, Joséphine Baker, Paul Reynaud, Jean Renoir, Van Dongen ou encore Colette qui y revenait souvent.
Le monde du cinéma et de la chanson n’est pas en reste avec Charles Vanel, Roger Vadim, Catherine Deneuve, Brigitte Bardot ou encore les Frères Jacques.

Rénové et repensé en 2013, nous espérons avoir rendu à ce lieu, une partie de sa majesté, en conservant tous les éléments que nous pouvions garder, tels que les sols en carreaux de ciments peints dans la masse qui viennent de Paray le Monial, ville natal de Victor Burtin, les cheminées qu’il y avait fait installer. En particulier celle de la salle des petits déjeuners avec son « frigo » devant laquelle se situait le bar, en 1930.